Individual Therapy for Adults

We start individual therapy with adults by learning what has brought our clients to therapy. This can take just a few minutes to a few sessions, as some presenting concerns are straightforward and others are multi-layered and complex.  After gaining an initial understanding of what our clients are bringing to individual therapy, we typically provide a verbal summary of the primary issues. 

While therapists are working toward understanding our clients' concerns, we are also seeking to build a warm and caring relationship. This is achieved through active listening, probing questions, and empathy. We value your feedback about how therapy is going and will periodically check in with you about this.

Our therapists see individual therapy as a healthy avenue to explore what is not working in one's life and what might work better. Within the safety of the therapeutic relationship, clients can learn to better handle their emotions, think more clearly, and to change unwanted behaviors. Our therapists will help you identify barriers to growth and work with you to overcome them. 

There are many reasons adults seek individual therapy. Below is a list of some of the most common:

  • The loss of an important relationship
  • Worries about the future
  • Significant change in circumstances
    • Starting or ending school
    • Starting or ending a partner relationship
    • Becoming disabled or becoming a caretaker
  • Chronic feelings of emptiness
  • Lack of meaningful relationships
  • Stress and time management
  • Uncertainty about a partner relationship
  • Binge or restrictive eating
  • Frequent feelings of guilt and shame
  • Feeling down on yourself
  • Social Anxiety
  • A general sense of things "not feeling right"
  • Loss of faith or questions about faith
  • Difficulty sleeping
  • Substance, gambling, internet, pornography abuse
  • Trauma or abuse history
  • Anger and impulsivity
  • Whatever your reason for seeking individual therapy, we are interested and eager to meet with you to see if we can help. Below are our clinicians who work with adults.

    Claudia Ángel, LCPC

    Individual Teens, & Adults | Families

    773.345.8330 x28

    cangel@chicagocounselingservices.com

    Dominique Barnes-Walker, PhD

    Dominique Barnes-Walker therapy

    773.345.8330 x23

    dbarneswalker@chicagocounselingservices.com

    Tiffany Bernard, LPC

    773.345.8330 x35

    tbernard@chicagocounselingservices.com

    Justen Boyd, LCSW

    773.345.8330 x32

    jboyd@chicagocounselingservices.com

    Juan Contreras, LSW

    773.345.8330 x22

    jcontreras@chicagocounselingservices.com

    Ana Diaz, LCPC

    773.345.8330 x25

    adiaz@chicagocounselingservices.com

    Amelia Harper, LCSW

    773.345.8330 x31

    aharper@chicagocounselingservices.com

    Danielle Keys, LCPC

    773.345.8330 x29

    dkeys@chicagocounselingservices.com

    Sarah Lim, LPC

    773.345.8330 x34

    slim@chicagocounselingservices.com

    Darnell Motley, PhD

    Darnell Motley therapy

    773.345.8330 x26

    dmotley@chicagocounselingservices.com

    Alison Oh, LCPC

    773.345.8330 x33

    aoh@chicagocounselingservices.com

    Keturah Platt, MA

    773.345.8330 x27

    kplatt@chicagocounselingservices.com

    Sivan Schneider, PsyD

    Sivan Schneider therapy

    773.345.8330 x24

    sschneider@chicagocounselingservices.com

    Anna Siewers, MEd

    773.345.8330 x36

    anna@chicagocounselingservices.com

    Elena Vertti, LCSW

    773.345.8330 x30

    evertti@chicagocounselingservices.com

    Call for your free 15 minute phone consultation 773.345.8330