Individual Therapy for Adults

We start individual therapy with adults by learning what has brought our clients to therapy. This can take just a few minutes to a few sessions, as some presenting concerns are straightforward and others are multi-layered and complex.  After gaining an initial understanding of what our clients are bringing to individual therapy, we typically provide a verbal summary of the primary issues. 

While therapists are working toward understanding our clients' concerns, we are also seeking to build a warm and caring relationship. This is achieved through active listening, probing questions, and empathy. We value your feedback about how therapy is going and will periodically check in with you about this.

Our therapists see individual therapy as a healthy avenue to explore what is not working in one's life and what might work better. Within the safety of the therapeutic relationship, clients can learn to better handle their emotions, think more clearly, and to change unwanted behaviors. Our therapists will help you identify barriers to growth and work with you to overcome them. 

There are many reasons adults seek individual therapy. Below is a list of some of the most common:

  • The loss of an important relationship
  • Worries about the future
  • Significant change in circumstances
    • Starting or ending school
    • Starting or ending a partner relationship
    • Becoming disabled or becoming a caretaker
  • Chronic feelings of emptiness
  • Lack of meaningful relationships
  • Stress and time management
  • Uncertainty about a partner relationship
  • Binge or restrictive eating
  • Frequent feelings of guilt and shame
  • Feeling down on yourself
  • Social Anxiety
  • A general sense of things "not feeling right"
  • Loss of faith or questions about faith
  • Difficulty sleeping
  • Substance, gambling, internet, pornography abuse
  • Trauma or abuse history
  • Anger and impulsivity
  • Whatever your reason for seeking individual therapy, we are interested and eager to meet with you to see if we can help. Below are our clinicians who work with adults.

    Claudia Ángel, LCPC

    773.345.8330 x228

    cangel@chicagocounselingservices.com

    Dominique Barnes-Walker, PhD

    773.345.8330 x223

    dbarneswalker@chicagocounselingservices.com

    Tiffany Bernard, LPC

    773.345.8330 x235

    tbernard@chicagocounselingservices.com

    Anne Bouleanu

    773.345.8330 x243

    abouleanu@chicagocounselingservices.com

    Sarah Cheung, LCPC

    773.345.8330 x234

    slim@chicagocounselingservices.com

    Juan Contreras, LSW

    773.345.8330 x222

    jcontreras@chicagocounselingservices.com

    Hilary Fingerman, LSW

    773.345.8330 x229

    hfingerman@chicagocounselingservices.com

    Amelia Harper, LCSW

    773.345.8330 x231

    aharper@chicagocounselingservices.com

    Anabel Martinez, LCPC

    773.345.8330 x232

    amartinez@chicagocounselingservices.com

    Chantelle Miller, MA

    773.345.8330 x239

    cmiller@chicagocounselingservices.com

    Darnell Motley, PhD

    773.345.8330 x226

    dmotley@chicagocounselingservices.com

    Crystal Ortiz, LSW

    773.345.8330 x237

    cortiz@chicagocounselingservices.com

    Sivan Schneider, PsyD

    773.345.8330 x224

    sschneider@chicagocounselingservices.com

    Pedro Segura-Moore, ALMFT

    773.345.8330 x225

    psegura@chicagocounselingservices.com

    Anna Siewers, LPC

    773.345.8330 x236

    anna@chicagocounselingservices.com

    Elena Vertti, LCSW

    773.345.8330 x230

    evertti@chicagocounselingservices.com

    Sadaka Whitehead-Smith, LCPC

    773.345.8330 x242

    ssmith@chicagocounselingservices.com

    Aaron Williams, Intern

    773.345.8330 x227

    awilliams@chicagocounselingservices.com

    Daniela Zermeno, LPC

    773.345.8330 x240

    dzermeno@chicagocounselingservices.com

    Call for your free 15 minute phone consultation 773.345.8330